Washington State classifies crimes into misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanors are further divided into two classifications: Gross misdemeanors and misdemeanors. A misdemeanor criminal conviction carries a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1,000.00 fine. A gross misdemeanor criminal conviction carries amaximum penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5,000.00 fine. The maximum penalty does not indicate you will serve the full 90 days or 365 days in jail; it merely prevents the Judge from imposing a penalty over that amount. Only upon conviction of either misdemeanor crime can a Judge impose jail and a fine as terms to a sentence.
A conviction of either misdemeanor classification can also include probation and various lifestyle restrictions. Misdemeanor probation can last up to two years. The Judge can impose the following probation conditions depending upon the crime you are convicted of or the alleged facts of the crime:
The Washington State Legislature has determined some misdemeanor crimes require mandatory penalties. Upon criminal conviction of those misdemeanors you will be incarcerated in a jail facility, and / or you will lose your driving privilege, and / or you will pay a fine. Even though you are charged with a misdemeanor crime it is imperative you contact an experienced attorney to protect your legal rights and freedom.