You must take a breath test if asked to do so by a Washington law enforcement officer during a traffic stop. Blood alcohol content exceeding 0.08% or obvious impairment can result in an arrest for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
If you face a DUI court date, review the potential legal consequences of a conviction.
Washington may suspend your license for 90 days after a DUI if you have no prior DUI convictions in the past seven years. You can receive a 12-month license suspension for breath test refusal or BAC of 0.15% or higher. A second DUI within seven years carries a 24-month license suspension.
In addition, the court may require an ignition interlock device on your vehicle after you get your driver’s license back. This device prevents your engine from starting without a clean BAC reading.
Treatment and probation
After a first offense, you can receive court-ordered substance use disorder treatment in a 90-day inpatient program. In lieu of treatment, the judge can order up to 364 days in jail or 15 days on house arrest. These requirements double for a second offense within seven years and extend even further for subsequent offenses.
Washington courts can assess fees of up to $5,200 for a DUI conviction. Fines start at $550 for the first offense and at $700 for the second or subsequent offense.
In addition to these penalties, the court can order more severe consequences for situations involving DUI with an underage passenger, breath test refusal or elevated BAC.